AviationHeritage.org - Working to document aviation heritage and history through the use of modern technologies
RAAF De Havilland Mosquito A52-609 at Coomalie, NT (State Library of SA [PRG 1435/4/1], 1945)
Home | People | Aircraft | Historical Documents | Legislation & Ethics | Contributors | Contact Us Facebook Twitter Instagram Sketchfab

Airacobra A53-7

Aircraft Model:Bell P-39 Airacobra
Manufacturer:Bell Aircraft Corporation
Identities:41-7141; A53-7
Units:No. 24 Squadron, RAAF
No. 82 Squadron, RAAF
No. 83 Squadron, RAAF


5 August 1942Unserviceable at No. 24 Squadron, RAAF.
6 October 1942Aircraft suffered engine failure and force landed at Bankstown aerodrome with undercarriage not fully locked down.
Pilot: W/O WILLIAM ROBERT HARRIS, RAAF 1855 (Uninjured)
15 May 1943Allotted to No. 83 Squadron, RAAF.
21 May 1943Received by No. 83 Squadron, RAAF.
8 June 1943Allotted to No. 82 Squadron, RAAF.
4 July 1943Issued to No. 82 Squadron, RAAF.
5 July 1943Received by No. 82 Squadron, RAAF.
2 September 1943Aircraft suffered engine failure and force landed at Williamtown soon after take-off.
Pilot: W/O RONALD ELLIS McGILLIVRAY, RAAF 402964 (Survived)
15 September 1943Allotted to US 5th Air Force.
Aircraft to be delivered to Replacement Centre, Charters Towers.
23 September 1943Aircraft awaiting engine change.
22 October 1943Issued to US 5th Air Force.


Anon. 2009 A53 Bell Airacobra. RAAF Museum, Point Cook. Retrieved 7 February 2017 from <https://www.airforce.gov.au/raafmuseum/research/aircraft/series2/A53.htm>.

Dunn, P. 2018 Crash of a P-39 Airacobra at Bankstown Airfield, NSW, on 6 October 1942. Australia @ War. Retrieved 22 October 2018 from <https://www.ozatwar.com/ozcrashes/nsw135.htm>.

National Archives of Australia [NAA] 1943, Airacobra A53 [Accidents], A9845, 89.

National Archives of Australia [NAA] 1943, Aircraft Status cards - Bell Airacobra A53-1 to A53-22, A10297, BLOCK 362.

Record updated on 22 October 2018.


Find out how you can have your business or organisation logo shown here.

Website Designed and Built by Daniel J. Leahy, 2016-19.